Saturday, June 23, 2012

Read for Free 'The Last Ember' by Glista (A.K.A Me)

   Due to excess study periods at school, I have decided to begin work on a novel that I'm writing straight onto Wattpad. It's free to read and I'm slow in writing it but I'm determined to get it done. Head on over to and search for Glista in the search bar!

Friday, June 15, 2012

Wattpad Reviews!

Due to the increase of school demands and extra curricular activities, I am no longer working on my 52 week short story writing challenge. As this means a heck of a lot less stress, I am going to be reviewing novels on Wattpad for my blogs Rissa Books and Rissa's Book Reviews. So, attention all Wattpad authors! If you are a Wattpad author or know of someone who is, just comment on this post and I'll be sure to read them!

おやすみなさい。Good night!

Monday, April 16, 2012

Book Review: Cassandra Clare's 'Clockwork Prince'

Set in Victorian London, this novel is a brilliant sequel to Clockwork Angel. Whilst some authors begin with amazingly composed works, Clare has consistently provided a visually beautiful and mysterious novel. It is positively a novel that leaves readers wanting to read more right up to the final word. In addition to this, Clare also knows how to tempt the reader with another spellbinding cliff-hanger finish.

The Cover: Unlike many novels, the salient image clearly indicates the character whom is being given the spotlight within the text. A personal favourite of mine, this series is on my favourite shelf for its combination of a beautiful cover that matches an equally beautiful and dangerous story.

Stars: 

The Characters: Overall, the characters depicted are very well thought out and consistent. Tessa is strong and brave but she is not perfect or Mary-Sue; she has her difficulties and conflicts. We see in this book a more thorough depiction of Jem and his feelings, and we gain a larger understanding of Will's life and how he has come to be the way he is. Cassandra should be very proud of her characters.

Stars: 

The Plot: The very thing that I love most about Cassandra's novels is her ability to be consistent in every facet. Her plots are always spellbinding and have the ability to make a reader wanting more. Of course, with every novel there are flaws but that is entirely dependent on the reader's perspective in this case. As Tessa's heart is torn between Jem and Will, Tessa's situation leaves the readers with the opportunity to swoon over their favourites: Team Jem or Team Will. It's difficult to choose which but I'd have to say Team Will with Team Jem a close second. ;)

Stars: 

Overall Comments: If you love Clockwork Angel, you're sure to fall for Clockwork Prince!

Stars: 

Thursday, February 23, 2012

I'm a Goodreads author now!

I never really write much for this blog aside from book reviews but I'm happy to say I am a Goodreads author now!
And I'm going to be completing two book reviews in the next week or so:

  • 'Switched' by Amanda Hocking, the new inspiration for my hopeful career in writing.
  • 'Fallen in Love' by Lauren Kate, a novel I have almost completed reading.
So until later, bon voyage!
MS Watson

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Read my new full novel for free, exclusive to Wattpad!

So since I sent my manuscript to Penguin I'm hoping to spread the love with uploading my novel to Wattpad and allowing people to read for free. :) And I'm working on writing a new series to send to Solstice Publishing, see if they'd like to publish me, and the new trailer for Glass Bones since the first one corrupted on my laptop and can only be viewed in Movie Maker. So head on over using the link ( and let me know what you think!

♥M.S. Watson

Sunday, February 19, 2012

The happiest rejection letter on earth... and more! XD

So today I log onto my emails in a whim to see if I have anything interesting and among the inbox emails is a reply to my manuscript submission to Penguin. I open it, expecting nothing of interest but it was sent from the managing editor from Penguin stating although they cannot offer me a publishing contract not to stop writing and to keep sending to other publishers. :) So that's why it's the happiest rejection letter on earth, and it's the only rejection letter I have.

PLUS I have been waiting forever to get Fallen In Love by Lauren Kate and Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare and I finally got them today. My room is slowly turning into a library but it's a little hobby of mine.

Saturday, February 4, 2012

Book Review: Kate Smith's 'Illumé'

Now that’s new. People tend to receive death threats, not undeath threats.’ 
‘Try to convince me it’s the same as threatening not to kill someone.’
In folds of light there are always shadows and this boutique novel delves right into them, providing an interesting read of the gothic, macabre story of Thane da Silva in the city of Paris. A great read, Kate Smith has provided a novel of the highest quality with her amazing ability to capture words into a story with the linguistic grace of a poet.

The cover: Purely beautiful, the cover really sets itself apart from the other novels with its falling petals and the elegant font with which the word Illumé was composed. A simple cover, one is left to consider why there is a petal with a stain in its middle. The darkened edges give the impression of a source of light in the middle of the cover with shadows creeping in from the sides. This gives a large clue to what is featured in the novel without readers realizing until they read the novel and thought about the cover. An intelligent choice in the way of book covers.

Stars: 

The Characters: The poetic way in which the characters are introduced confused me in some places; however, I simply am not used to reading boutique novels. Despite my own setback the author provided meaningful characters and they each have a distinct purpose.

Stars: 

The Plot: Definitely a great read with poetic grace throughout but not a recommended read for adolescents who read text language all day long. This is a great third-person plot that really involves the reader in a world of shadows and intrigue. The particular beauty of the book is that while many novels involve focusing the main character’s attention on a love interest this novel focuses mostly on Thane’s journey.

Stars: 

Overall Comments: If you enjoy whimsical, gothic novels this is definitely a read for you. The words will weave you deep into the novel as you explore the shadows in the City of Light, undertaking an intriguing journey. This novel does not disappoint, however, the intense language used may confuse younger adolescent and adult audiences.

Stars: 

Monday, January 9, 2012

Book Review: L.A. Weatherly's 'Angel'

If you have a sweet-tooth when it comes to devouring books you will love L.A. Weatherly’s Angel! L.A. grabs readers in an enticing page-turner worthy of bestseller-dom leaving you wanting more.

The Cover: I am usually a girl who severely dislikes the colours of sky blue, green and orange together but this cover is definitely interesting. The font is beautiful and timelessly elegant and the model’s partly shadowed face indicates there is more to the story than a pretty face. The quote “The only good angel is a dead angel” is a great hook and admittedly helped convince me to buy the book. When I first looked at the cover it intrigued me and I put it down but couldn’t stop thinking about it during the week. Eventually I went back to the store and bought it when I had the money and couldn’t stop reading it. I spent the duration from 3pm that afternoon until 4am the following morning reading L.A.’s fascinating tale.
Stars: 3/5
The Characters: Thoroughly developed these characters have soul and I felt there was more to Willow’s mother than she’s given credit. There is very little that can be faulted on this front with a witty heroine, her handsome love interest and angels more terrifying than one can imagine.
Stars: 5/5

The Plot: The plot overall was fantastic but got a little lacklustre in a few small places leading up to the climax. L.A. presents the novel with a great beginning and I particularly loved the slow rate at which Willow and Alex trusted each other. The necklace… well that was just a stroke of genius tying the two characters together. A refreshing novel, the plot combines sweet-tooth romance with great levels of nail-biting action and a conclusion leaving readers waiting for more.
Stars: 4/5

Overall Comments: This is sincerely a novel for YA romance fanatics mostly but really applies to a wide range of audiences. Beware though if you don’t have a sweet-tooth as you will be bombarded with lovey-dovey moments between the main characters. The only improvement I could point out was the very small lacklustre moments – every writer gets them at some point – but definitely a novel worth checking out. I am sincerely looking forward to the reading Angel Fire and furthermore Angel Fever coming this year.
Overall Stars: 4/5